Click Here to Learn How Morris-Hall PLLC is helping clients during the COVID-19 pandemic.

There are now 21 states that allow same-sex marriage.  Oregon and Pennsylvania are the two newest states to be added to the list.  In both Oregon and Pennsylvania the governors and the attorneys general have decided not to appeal the decisions. Therefore these two states will allow same-sex marriage going forward.  Here is a complete list of the states that now allow same-sex marriage:

  • Massachusetts
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Iowa
  • Vermont
  • New Hampshire
  • New York
  • Washington (state)
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Rhode Island
  • Delaware
  • Minnesota
  • New Jersey
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • New Mexico
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania

The District of Columbia also allows same-sex marriage.

Every other state in the United States prohibits same-sex marriage. In every one of those states that prohibits same-sex marriage there is litigation pending challenging the prohibition, except one: North Dakota. Federal judges in most of these states have already ruled that the ban on same-sex marriage is unconstitutional. These cases are on appeal in the US Circuit Court of Appeals. It is only a matter of time before one of these cases is in front of the 9 Justices on the United States Supreme Court and we will have a resolution to this issue. A recent Gallup poll shows that 55% of the people approve same-sex marriage, which is an indicator in which way the court will lean as to same-sex marriage becoming the law of the land.

Contributed by MH Arrowhead, Scottsdale and Phoenix Estate Planning Attorney, David T. Eastman.

What the Attorneys of Morris Hall Can Do For You:
The attorneys at Morris Hall have 100’s of years of combined experience ensuring that families’ assets are protected from probate, unnecessary taxes, creditors, ex-spouses and Medicaid spend-down.  The attorneys also help those in Arizona and New Mexico to apply for and receive Medicaid assistance and Veterans Benefits.  Our Arizona offices are located in Phoenix, Mesa, Scottsdale, Cave Creek, Tucson, Prescott, Flagstaff and Arrowhead.  Our New Mexico offices are located in Albuquerque, Las Cruces and Santa Fe.  Contact us today at 888.222.1328 to schedule an appointment!

This blog should be used for informational purposes only.  It does not create an attorney-client relationship with any reader and should not be construed as legal advice.  If you need legal advice, please contact an attorney in your community who can assess the specifics of your situation.

Leave a Reply